Read

Contact us
Capture-du2019écran-2019-10-16-à-16.38.43-805x605
Timothée Richard 12.16.20

Rethinking Creativity to Better Meet Fashion Challenges

Interviews

The release of NellyRodi’s latest fashion trendbooks (“Women & Men 2021”) offers a timely opportunity to talk to Global Creative Director Cécile Rosenstrauch about the challenges facing the fashion sector and how the agency has updated its methodology to meet them.

What are the major challenges facing the fashion sector?

It is our conviction that the fashion sector is undergoing major upheavals. Longtime players and new entrants alike will now have to excel on three fronts – corporate social responsibility, agility and creativity –  while preserving their singularity and coherence.

Contrary to common belief, the key transformations underway, especially in the areas of transparency and eco-responsibility, represent tremendous opportunities for the sector. For instance, it will now be able to support creativity by inventing new processes and tools (especially digital) that are increasingly agile and convenient.

It is time to rethink job descriptions, find new ways to generate intra-team synergy and develop more horizontal, collaborative approaches.

This leads to another notion, i.e.the renewal of creative vision. While creativity has long been viewed through the prism of a product’s aesthetics (e.g. print motif or color), it is now perceived as part of a global approach to ensure desirability and singularity. In other words, creativity is understood to encompass not only the product, but also the 360° vision of a brand’s touchpoints (e.g. website, social platforms, physical stores and merchandising).

 How will this affect future processes and job descriptions?

Well, creative minds will always find solutions!Since competition is fierce, the constraints associated with industry-wide changes must be perceived as an opportunity to boost creativity. For instance, the issue of eco-responsibilility is an excellent reason for a brand to introduce intelligent, eco-friendly practices at every echelon as well as innovations bearing on its materials as well as its storytelling, points of sale and services.

In parallel, brands need to update their collection design process by integrating today’s paradoxes (anticipation/reaction, trendiness/reassurance, practicality/creativity, surprise/transparency) in order to cultivate positive friction. They will also have to better identify what consumers really want in terms of price level, novelty, transparency, emotion, concepts, surprise effects, co-construction and customer experience.

While anticipation has always been a defining characteristic of the fashion sector, we believe that the creative path has changed. Now more than ever, it is crucial for each fashion brand to transition from its current market positioning and commercial action plan (defining the brand’s discourse, engagement, lifestyle, capsule collections, storytelling and commercial/cultural events) to a more horizontal mode of collection construction.

How has NellyRodi responded to these major upheavals with regard to methodology?

We have completely revised our methodology to produce the “Men & Women 2021” trendbooks. Instead of organizing our concepts by theme, we took a more pragmatic approach, closer to our customers’ business realities, by presenting our conceptsin terms of color, must-have products and inspiring capsule collections.

Our current aim is to provide operational and creative suggestions based on consumption realities via our Consumer Profil Tracker©, a tool designed for a variety of users including buyers, product managers, visual merchandisers and marketing personnel. This distinctive “turn key” tool will also enhance convenience and creativity for product developers as well as provide a source of inspiration for in-store events, merchandising strategy and formulating editorial guidelines for communication tools.

Our dual priority for both trendbooks was to account for our clients’ business realities while meeting their demand for inspirations.

For more information, please consult our Women’s Spring Summer 2021 and Men’s Spring Summer 2021 Editions.

More news

Repenser la créativité pour mieux répondre aux enjeux du secteur Mode

Quels sont les grands enjeux du secteur ? Nous avons la conviction que le secteur de la Mode est en …
Par Augustin Lavagna Publié le 17 octobre 2019 Partager

Quels sont les grands enjeux du secteur ?

Nous avons la conviction que le secteur de la Mode est en pleine régénération. Et qu’acteurs traditionnels, comme nouveaux entrants doivent désormais porter 3 grands combats : responsabilité, agilité et créativité, tout en restant singulier et cohérent.

Contrairement aux idées reçues, les grandes mutations sectorielles, et notamment celles de la transparence et de l’écoresponsabilité, représentent de formidables opportunités pour le secteur et notamment celle d’inventer de nouveaux process et de nouveaux outils, notamment digitaux, plus agiles et pragmatiques au service de la création.

C’est également l’occasion de repenser les métiers, les synergies entre les équipes et de penser plus horizontal et collaboratif.

L’autre idée, complémentaire à la première, c’est le renouveau de la vision créative. Si pendant longtemps on a imaginé une créativité au prisme de l’esthétique du produit – du print ou de la couleur -, cette notion s’envisage désormais au sein d’une démarche globale de recherche de désirabilité et de singularité. C’est à dire à la lumière du produit, mais aussi d’une vision 360° des points de contactsconsommateurs – site internet, réseaux sociaux, magasin, merchandising, etc.

Quels sont les impacts pour ces process et les métiers de demain ?

Être créatif, c’est être aussi solutionniste. A l’heure où le niveau de concurrence est extrêmement élevé, il faut envisager les contraintes liées aux mutations du secteur comme un booster de créativité. Par exemple, le sujet de l’écoresponsabilité doit permettre d’adopter une attitude « clever », « moins mais mieux », à tous les niveaux de l’entreprise et d’innover non pas seulement par la matièremais aussi sur le storytelling de la marque, les points de vente, les services proposés…

Parallèlement, les acteurs doivent réorienter la manière dont ils construisent leurs collections, en s’imprégnant des paradoxes actuels : anticipation et réactivité, tendance et (ré)assurance, pragmatisme et créativité, surprise et transparence… pour faire émerger des frictions positives. Il faut mieux aussi cerner la réalité des attentes consommateurs (le bon niveau de prix, de la nouveauté, de la transparence, de l’émotion, des partis-pris, de la surprise, de la co-construction, des expériences…)

Si le propre du secteur est toujours l’anticipation, nous sommes convaincus que le chemin de créativité a changé. Qu’il est plus que jamais impératif de partir de la posture de la marque, de son plan d’animation commercial (PAC) – discours de la marque et engagement, usages, collections capsules, storytelling, évènements commerciaux et culturelles, etc – et basculer vers une construction plus horizontale des collections.

Comment NellyRodi, à travers sa méthodologie, répond à cette nouvelle donne ?

En lien avec ces bouleversements, la méthodologie des éditions Men & Women 2021 a été profondément redessinée. Nous avons choisi de délaisser l’entrée traditionnelle par thèmes, pour faire un travail plus pragmatique, où l’on dévoile nos partis-pris en termes de couleurs, de must have produits et de capsules très inspirantes plus en phase avec la réalité business de nos clients.

Le nouveau parti-pris, en lien avec notre Consumer Profil Tracker©, c’est d’opérer un lien entre réalité de consommation et suggestions opérationnelles créatives. Nous avons également pensé cet outil pour une plus grande diversité de métiers : acheteurs, chefs de produits, visual merchandisers, marketeurs et proposer, de manière inédite, un outil « clé en main » permettant de combiner pragmatisme et créativité au service du développement produits mais aussi inspirants pour les évènements en magasin, la stratégie de merchandising ou l’éditorial des outils de communication.

Pour ces 2 éditions, notre priorité a été d’allier réalité business et besoins d’inspirations simultané !

Pour aller plus loin, n’hésitez pas à consulter nos éditions Women’s Spring Summer 2021 et Men’s Spring Summer 2021.

Tags: #Mode #création #men #Woman #singularité #agilité #Enjeux #responsabilité #Cohérence

Poursuivre
l'immersion

Next

Adrien Deslous Paoli – De Rigueur

Cet épisode de (Re)Think Fashion est un entretien exclusif avec Adrien Deslous-Paoli, co-fondateur et CEO de De Rigueur Lab.

more

Masterclass NellyRodi – Nathalie Dufour

Nos désormais célèbres Masterclass du lundi sont capturées en format podcast, grâce à Adrien Garcia et la team digitale NELLYRODI. Pour tous ceux qui n’ont pas pu venir, écoutez les a volonté sur les plateformes d’écoute podcast habituelles.

more